Sports Logo: Vancouver Grizzlies

For the “National Sports Team Logo Project” assignment, I chose to recreate the old NBA logo for the Vancouver Grizzlies.

I started off by tracing what the background would be, then working my way up to the front layers.

I then traced the “GRIZZLIES” text. For the white highlights (or shadows, or claw marks), I simply matched the lines that would remain visible on the final product since the rest of it would be covered by the actual “GRIZZLIES” layer.

I went on by tracing the actual grizzly, which was I found to be the most challenging part only because of the amount of curves it had on the face alone.

After I was finished all the tracing in different layers, I proceeded to colour everything in, using the eye dropper tool to match all the colours from the original. Below you can see my finished product (right) beside the original (left). I’m actually quite pleased on how my vector turned out.

Leave a comment